25 Aug 2009   |   Network Updates

TU Delft in two new Erasmus Mundus programmes

The European Commission has approved the use of the Erasmus Mundus label for two degree programmes in which TU Delft and its university partners are participating. The Commission awards the Erasmus Mundus distinction to a limited number of university programmes. One programme is called Computer Simulation for Science Engineering (COSSE), which is part of the EEMCS Master of Applied Mathematics programme. The other is the Joint Doctorate programme in Sustainable Energy Technologies and Strategies of the Faculty of TPM.

Each Erasmus Mundus programme is conducted by a consortium of European universities. Students selected for the programme spend time studying at two or more consortium institutions. They receive a “Double Degree” upon graduation.

The two new programmes will be launched in the 2010-2011 academic year. TU Delft now participates in a total of seven Erasmus Mundus programmes. The following programmes previously received the Erasmus Mundus distinction: Optics in Science and Technology, Coastal and Marine Engineering & Management, Economics and Management of Network Industries, Nanoscience and Nanotechnology, and Minerals and Environment.

The Computer Simulation for Science Engineering (COSSE) Master’s programme will be conducted together with KTH Stockholm, TU Berlin and the Friedrich Alexander University of Erlangen-Nürnberg.

The Sustainable Energy Technologies and Strategies programme will be conducted together with Universidad Pontificia Comillas (Madrid), KTH Stockholm, the Florence School of Regulation, University of Paris Sud and Johns Hopkins University in the US. This programme is one of the thirteen new Joint Doctorates.

Erasmus Mundus was established in 2004 and in the 2010-2011 academic year will include 116 programmes at the Master’s level and 13 Joint Doctorates. Erasmus Mundus is mainly intended to make European higher education more attractive to students from outside the EU. University consortia may apply to the European Commission for scholarship funds for non-EU students.

For the first time in 2010, institutions from outside the EU may become members of a consortium. One example is Johns Hopkins University’s participation in the Sustainable Energy Technologies and Strategies programme.

Never miss an update from Science|Business:   Newsletter sign-up