Aalto University

Aalto University was established in January 2010 as merger of three leading Finnish higher education institutes. Aalto University is a multidisciplinary community where science and art meet technology and business. The university is committed to identifying and solving grand societal challenges and building an innovative future. Aalto University has 20.000 students and 4.000 employees, nearly 400 of whom are professors. There is a wide variety of Bachelor’s and Master’s Degrees awarded, and doctoral programmes are offered in all the fields of study. 

Aalto University strives to change the world through top-quality interdisciplinary research, pioneering education, surpassing traditional boundaries, and renewal. Aalto University educates professionals with the knowledge and capabilities to build a sustainable society and to increase wellbeing through disruptive change.

Aalto University consists of six schools: School of Arts, Design and Architecture, School of Business, School of Chemical Engineering, School of Electrical Engineering, School of Engineering, and School of Science. Its key research areas are identified as ICT and digitalisation, materials and sustainable use of natural resources, arts and design knowledge building and global business dynamics.

Aalto University is engaged in collaborative research projects with leading international research institutes and businesses. The alumni network covers over 90 000 individuals around the world.

Learn more

Students at Aalto University
Students at Aalto University

Aalto University News