Brussels   |   -   |   Public conference

R&I in recovery: What can Horizon Europe deliver?

Replay now available

Since Commission President Ursula von der Leyen took office in 2019, she has continuously highlighted research and innovation (R&I) as a critical driver of Europe’s green and digital transformations, and central to its global competitiveness. More recently, the COVID-19 pandemic has driven home the value to society of scientific excellence and cooperation – even if member states appeared at times to overlook that during negotiations over the next EU budget and recovery plan.  

Now that the key numbers have finally been agreed, Horizon Europe – the next R&I Framework Programme – is gearing up to launch, supported by €95.5 billion in funding. Yet as it does, important questions remain as to how great an impact Horizon will ultimately have, as a bridge between crisis and recovery and as a foundation for rebuilding Europe’s societies and economies. Can the Commission establish genuine synergies between Horizon and other flagship programmes? Will member states and associated countries align their own resources and programmes with Europe’s R&I ambitions? And in the global context, can Europe realistically expect to achieve its strategic goals – in domains such as climate and AI – without China and the US on board?

By extension, Europe’s R&I communities keenly await news of how Horizon will be implemented. Will the programme ensure that stronger pathways are laid between fundamental science and market competitiveness, a compelling value proposition defined for industry, and citizens actively engaged?  How will the European Green Deal be embedded across every aspect of Horizon’s structure and activities?  Will mission-oriented approaches inspire deep change in science and technology development? And, of equal importance, how will success and impact be determined for the future recipients of Horizon funding?

On February 22 and 23, Science|Business will convene leading figures from across its own Network and the international R&I spectrum to address these issues in more depth.

Margrethe Vestager
Executive Vice President, European Commission
Mariya Gabriel
Commissioner for Innovation, Research, Youth, Education and Culture, European Commission
Stella Kyriakides
Commissioner for Health and Food Safety, European Commission
Tedros Adhanom Ghebreyesus
Director-General, World Health Organisation
Manuel Heitor
Minister of Science, Technology and Higher Education, Government of Portugal
Simona Kustec
Minister of Education, Science and Sport, Government of Slovenia
Mona Nemer
Chief Scientific Advisor, Government of Canada
Patrick Child
Deputy Director-General, Directorate-General for Research and Innovation (DG RTD), European Commission
Christian Ehler
Member, European Parliament
Stefan Kaufmann
Member, Deutscher Bundestag
Martin Kern
Director, European Institute of Innovation and Technology (EIT)
Julien Guerrier
Director, Policy and Programming Centre, Directorate-General for Research and Innovation (DG RTD), European Commission
Edvard Moser
2014 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine; Founding Director, Kavli Institute for Systems Neuroscience, Norwegian University of Science and Technology (NTNU)
Michael Houghton
2020 Nobel Prize in Physiology & Medicine; Director, LKSAVI; Professor, Department of Medical Microbiology & Immunology, University of Alberta
Ernest Moniz
CEO, Energy Futures Initiative; Former US Secretary of Energy
Karen Maex
Rector Magnificus, University of Amsterdam
Jean Chambaz
President, Sorbonne University
Ilkka Niemelä
President, Aalto University
Jukka Mönkkönen
Rector, University of Eastern Finland
Olivier Charmeil
Executive Vice President, General Medicines, Sanofi
Huiyao Wang
Founder and President, Center for China and Globalization (CCG)
Pearl Dykstra
Professor, Empirical Sociology, Erasmus University Rotterdam
Kimmo Koski
Managing Director & Chair, CSC IT Center for Science
Hagit Schwimmer
Director, Climate Action, Environment, Resource Efficiency and Raw Materials, Israel-Europe Research & Innovation Directorate (ISERD)
Mathias Rauch
Director, Research Policy and Strategy, Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft
Diane Côté
President and Chief Executive Officer, MEDTEQ+
Antti Vasara
CEO, VTT and President, EARTO
Tor Grande
Pro-Rector for Research, Norwegian University of Science and Technology (NTNU)
Mikael Östling
Deputy President, KTH Royal Institute of Technology
Paola Inverardi
Vice Chair, Technology Policy Committee, ACM Europe
Louis Fradette
Chairman, Department of Chemical Engineering, Polytechnique Montreal
Max Dumoulin
Vice-President, Institutional Offerings, Elsevier
Sinan Atlig
Regional President, Vaccines International Developed Markets, Pfizer Biopharmaceutical Group
Anna Valtonen
Professor, Strategic Design, Aalto University
Hannu Kemppainen
Executive Director, Strategy Performance and Management, Business Finland
Yuko Harayama
Executive Director, RIKEN
Walter Weigel
Vice President, European Research Institute, Huawei
Valeria Nicolosi
Professor, Nanomaterials and Microscopy, Trinity College Dublin
Alfonso Valencia
Director, Life Sciences Department & ICREA Professor, Barcelona Supercomputing Center
Klaas Wierenga
Chief Innovation & Technology Officer, GEANT
Seán Hand
Deputy Pro-Vice Chancellor, Europe, Warwick University
Isabelle Bekeredjian-Ding
Head of Division of Micobiology, Paul Ehrlich Institute
Jonathan Wareham
Professor of Information Systems, ESADE Business & Law School; Founder, ESADE Institute for Innovation and Knowledge Management; Member, Project Consortium Board, ATTRACT
Jean-Marc Bourez
Managing Director, France, EIT Health
Karin Pfeffer
Full Professor and Chair, Infrastructuring Urban Futures, University of Twente
Anna Stenstam
CEO, CR Competence AB
Jakub Drnec
Beamline Scientist, LEAPS & European Synchrotron Radiation Facility
Sara Degli Esposti
Scientific Director, TRESCA; Research Fellow, Spanish National Research Council (CSIC); Honorary Research Fellow, Centre for Business in Society, Coventry University
Shiva Dustdar
Head of Division Innovation Finance Advisory, European Investment Bank
Kalevi Ekman
Director & PDP Professor, Aalto Design Factory
Ana Noronha
Executive Director, Ciência Viva
Lili Milani
Head of the Personalised Medicine Initiative, Estonian Genome Centre, University of Tartu
Per Niederbach
Executive Vice President and Head of Division Entrepreneurship, Growth and Exports, Innovation Norway
Simon Edmonds
Deputy Executive Chair and Chief Business Officer, Innovate UK
Jacques Verraes
Deputy Head of Unit, EU Scientific Advice Mechanism, European Commission
Stephane Ouaki
Head of Unit, European Innovation Council, European Commission
Ewa Kocinska-Lange
Director, The National Centre for Research and Development (NCBR) Office in Brussels / Business & Science Poland
Ronenn Roubenoff
Global Head, Translational Medicine Discovery and Profiling, Novartis Institutes for Biomedical Research
Tomas Sluka
CEO & Co-Founder, CREAL
Ulrich Schuh
President, Eureka Association and Director, Economic Policy, WPZ Research
Amélie Leenhardt
Head of European Development, ARTE ARTE G.E.I.E.
Ronald de Bruin
Director, COST Association
Robert Schröder
Policy Officer, Directorate-General Research and Innovation (DG RTD), European Commission
Massimiano Tellini
Director & Global Head, Circular Economy, Intesa Sanpaolo
Sara Abdulla
Chief Opinion Editor, Nature
Olivier Crouzet
Head of Pedagogy. 42
Rémi Quirion
Chief Scientist, Province of Quebec
Iskra Mihaylova
Member, European Parliament
Karl Tombre
Member, Innovation Ecosystems Expert Group, EUA; Vice-President, European and International Strategy, Université de Lorraine
Anna Mouser
Policy & Advocacy Lead, Wellcome Trust

Practical Information

For more information on this event, please contact Janni Ekrem at [email protected]