Brussels   |     |   Members only

Presidents Dinner

A private Science|Business Network executive event (18:30 - 21:30)

The Science|Business Presidents Dinner is a new addition to the annual events calendar for Science|Business Network members. It has the objective of fostering networking and exchanges of views between university presidents & rectors, senior industry executives and the leaders of public sector research & innovation agencies which make up our increasingly international community. 

The 2020 Presidents Dinner will be framed around a central discussion theme – namely, latest trends and dynamics in the R&D and innovation financing landscape. There is of course a rationale for choosing this topic. The incoming European Commission has proposed a hugely ambitious agenda to make Europe the world’s first climate-neutral continent by 2050. This includes a Sustainable Europe Investment Plan intended to unlock €1 trillion of investment within the next decade. However, with economic and market forecasts increasingly pessimistic for 2020, are companies, universities and public agencies prepared to invest now in the science and technology solutions required to meet these European and global challenges?  And if so, from where can they expect to secure mission-critical financing in the years to come, and under what conditions?

Featured Guests
Geleyn Meijer
Rector, Amsterdam University of Applied Sciences
Nina Kopola
Director General, Business Finland
Thierry Lagrange
Head of Industry, Procurement and Knowledge Transfer, CERN
Mauro Ferrari
President, European Research Council
Oliver Grau
Chairman, Technology Policy Committee, Association for Computing Machinery
Ilkka Niemelä
President, Aalto University
Rosa Menéndez
President, CSIC
Jan Palmowski
Secretary General, The Guild
François Bertrand
Vice President, Academic & Research, Polytechnique Montréal
Jaak Aaviksoo
Rector, Tallinn University of Technology
Detlef Günther
Vice President , Research and Corporate Relations, ETH Zurich
Patrick Prendergast
Provost, Trinity College Dublin
Robin Mason
Pro Vice Chancellor, Internationalisation, University of Birmingham
Antoine Petit
Chief Executive, CNRS
Andrew McDowell
Vice President, European Investment Bank
Karin Dahlman-Wright
Chair of the Board, Karolinska Institutet Holding AB
Christian Thomsen
President, TU Berlin
Nili Shalev
Director General, ISERD
James Eshelby
Executive Director, Pfizer
Ruben Díaz Naderi
Deputy CEO, International Affairs, Sant Joan de Deu, Barcelona Children's Hospital
Simon Edmonds
Deputy Executive Chair & Chief Business Officer, Innovate UK

For more information on this private dinner, please contact Lysiane Pons ([email protected])