Online   |     |   Partner event

European technological sovereignty: Where to draw the line?

A TU Eindhoven high level conference to open its new Academic Year, in partnership with Science|Business (15:00 – 16:45 CET)

Recent crises – from COVID and climate and energy and food supply – have highlighted the geopolitics of technology and Europe’s vulnerability in various sectors which are critical to its future. In parallel, they have underlined why the EU is working towards strategic autonomy and repositioning itself in a highly volatile world.

On September 5, an exceptional line-up of speakers will take centre stage at Eindhoven University of Technology’s Opening of the Academic Year to address the theme ‘Contributing to Europe’s Technological Sovereignty’. This public, livestreamed event features keynotes from European Commissioner Thierry Breton, the Netherlands’ Minister of Economic Affairs and Climate Policy, Micky Adriaansens and ASML CEO Peter Wennink, who will share their vision on the way forward. The contribution of the Netherlands to Europe’s agenda, in particular through the Brainport Eindhoven high-tech ecosystem, will be among the main topics discussed.

As an official media partner, Science|Business will livestream proceedings on this webpage – see below. Please note: this is a free-to-air public broadcast, for which no formal registration is required.

For more information about the September 5 event, please contact Ivo Jongsma, Communications Adviser ([email protected]) or write to [email protected].


15:00 – Welcome and introductory remarks

  • Robert-Jan Smits, President, Eindhoven University of Technology

15:10 – Keynote speech

  • Thierry Breton – European Commissioner for the Internal Market

15:25 – Keynote speech

  • Micky Adriaansens – Minister of Economic Affairs and Climate Policy, Government of the Netherlands

15:35 – Keynote speech

  • Peter Wennink Chief Executive Officer, ASML 

15.50 – Panel debate, featuring (in alphabetical order):

  • Micky Adriaansens
  • Thierry Breton
  • Robert-Jan Smits
  • Sylvia van EsPresident, Royal Philips Netherlands
  • Peter Wennink

16:30 – Keynote speech and official opening of the academic year

  • Frank Baaijens – Rector, Eindhoven University of Technology

16:45 – Close of event